On behalf of the Women's Executive Council, we would like to sincerely thank the Orlando community for supporting the 47th Annual Women's Achievement Awards.

A special note of gratitude to the Women's Achievement Awards Steering Committee for their countless hours of work and dedication to our vision of Empowering and Embracing Women to Serve Central Florida. 

Applause and sincere gratitude to Vanessa Echols and Jorge Estevez, news anchors, WFTV Channel 9 / WRDQ TV 27 for keeping the evening light and informative as they shared inspirational backgrounds of our scholarship recipients and honorees. Who knew raising money for scholarships could be so fun! 

Our sincere thanks to each of our corporate partners, sponsors, donors, and guests.  Together we awarded 31 scholarships totaling $61,132 to help enrich the of these women!  Please join us and join the 1972 Society as 100% of these funds are given to women attending the Florida Institute of Technology, Herzing University. Rollins College, Seminole State College, University of Central Florida, and Valencia Community College.

Since 1987, the Women's Executive Council has awarded $512,680 in scholarship funds to 308 women in Central Florida.

Share your memories #waa2019


Laura Arrowsmith
Doragnes Bradshaw


Teri Benson
Bobbi Govanus
Deanna Snyder, RN

Nora Buning, co-chair
Jean Horning, co-chair
Eva Shoemker, co-chair
Doranges Bradshaw
Carina Gersovich
Jean Horning
Jane Scrima
Brenda Thompson
Liz Whelpley


Silent Auction
Lauren Brusca, chair
Heather Maloney
Nancy Mireles


Jane Scrima, co-chair
Nallita Sepulveda, co-chair
Shelly Ferrone
Joan Giovanni
Julie Koves
Eva Shoemaker
Brenda Thompson
Yarmmys Vargas
Liz Whelpley


Diana Larsen, co-chair
Krissy Stewart, co-chair
Laura Arrowsmith
Servola Fraiser
Bobbi Govanus
Diana Larsen
Carina Gersovich
Laura Lynn
Martha Mannarino
Nancy Mireles


Marketing & Website Chair
Deanna Snyder, RN


VIP Reception
Nancy Mireles, Chair
Elcy Hernandez





Congratulations to Leticia Diaz, Dean & Professor of Law, Barry University | Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law

Congratulations to these amazing and inspiring women!

Left to Right Front Row: Latasha Barnes, Kyle Alexandre, Faith-Christina Duncan, Karen Revels, Romie Mushtaq, MD
Left to Right Back Row: Diane Tennis, Laura Bedard, Leticia Diaz, Diane Crews, Karen Willis
Not Pictured: Frances Rios, Peggy Hoyt, Pamela McCauley

2018 Women's Achievement Awards Honorees & Nominees

Photo was taken at the VIP Reception at the Orlando Health Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women & Babies on September 12, 2019


Emerging Leader Honoree
Kyle Alexandre | Walt Disney World

Finance Honoree
LaTasha Barnes | Orlando Health Arnold Palmer Hospital for Children & Orlando Health Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women & Babies

Brandice Barton-Stubbs | New Image Youth Center

Denise Kim Beamer | Ninth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida

Public Service Honoree
Laura Bedard, PhD | Seminole County Jail

Candita Bryan | RENEW Women’s Global Outreach

Leslie Christin | Cara Cosmetics

Cari Coats | Accendo Leadership Advisory Group

Transportation Honoree
Diane Crews | Orlando Sanford International Airport

Women's Achievement Awards
Women of the Year
Leticia Diaz | Barry University Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law

Rising Stare Honoree
Faith-Christina Duncan | Quilting/Embroidery Business

Nora Lee Garcia | University of Central Florida

Stephanie Garris | Grace Medical Home

Lena Graham-Morris | Horus Construction Services/Horus Academy

Tara Hagood | Wharton Smith

Aluska Harms-Richardson | Aurora InfoTech, LLC

Professional Honoree
Peggy Hoyt | The Law Offices of Hoyt & Bryan

Colleen Hufford | Friends of the Park 501(c)3

Sharon Karklins | Williams Company

Anissa King | Ms. Corporate America Organization

Catherine Losey | Losey PLLC

Heather Maloney | American Heart Association

Vickie Martin | Christian HELP

Science & Technology Honoree
Pamela McCauley, PhD | Transforming Your STEM Career and the National Science Foundation

Rosie Moore | The Gift of Life

Healthy & Wellness Honoree
Romie Mushtaq, MD | Evolution Hospitality

Josie NeJame | Runway to Hope

Lauren Nelson | Nemours Children's Hospital / Nemours Fund for Children's Health

Janet Perez Eckles | JC Empowerment Ministries

Giorgina Pinedo Rolon | City of Orlando

Kaylynn Price | Regions Bank

Philanthropy Honoree
Karen Revels | Cannonball Kids' Cancer Foundation

Frances Rios | Frances Rios International

Camy Schwam-Wilcox | Schwam Wilcox & Associates

Elizabeth Scovil | Elizabeth Scovil Handbags

Government Honoree
Diana Tennis | Ninth Circuit Court of Florida

Jean Thompson | Westgate Resorts

Nicole Warren | Chance 2 Dance

Renee Weeden | Orlando Skin Solutions

Education Honoree
Karen Willis | Early Learning Coalition of Orange County

Bickley Wilson | Philanthropy, Visual Art, Counseling and Mental Health 

Chiquita Wright | Chanell Wright Foundation 

Thank You to Our Generous Partners!

Corporate Partners


Platinum 1972 Partner

1972 Partners


Platinum Partners



Program Partner


For more information regarding event sponsor packets and silent auction donations, email [email protected].

The Women's Achievement Awards benefits the 501(c)(3) Women's Executive Council Scholarship & Endowment Fund.