Embracing and Empowering Women to Serve Central Florida

WAA Steering Committee

Women's Achievement Awards 2016

Thank you to our Generous Sponsors!

Congratulations to our Scholarship Recipients!

Back row: Bobbi Govanus, Michelle Brady Palmer, Diane O'dell, Robin Maynard, Kay Rawlins, Michelle Alley, Kari Conley

​Front row: Dana Bledsoe, Kristen Manieri, Judge Liz Starr, Lourdes Mola, Maribeth Bisienere, Kambria Anderson (Chief Riley's Assistant)

Congratulations to our HONOREEs

Executive partner

  • EMERGING LEADER HONOREE Kristen Manieri | Orlando Date Night Guide​
  • NONPROFIT HONOREE Robin Maynard | Libby's Legacy Breast Cancer Foundation
  • Jennifer McAfee | Central Florida Hotel & Lodging Association
  • Laverne McGee | Orange County Property Appraiser's Office
  • Rosie Miller | The Assistance Fund
  • Nancy Mireles | Boy Scouts of America, Central Florida Council
  • ENTREPRENEUR HONOREE Lourdes Mola | Lourdes Mola Solutions
  • Christine Moore | Orange County Public Schools
  • Karla Muniz | Florida Hospital
  • Romila "Dr. Romie" Mustaq, MD | Brain Body Beauty
  • ​INNOVATION HONOREE Diane O'Dell | Universal Orlando Resort & Universal Orlando Foundation
  • PHILANTHROPY HONOREE Kay Rawlins | Orlando City Soccer Club
  • CENTRAL FLORIDA WOMAN OF THE YEAR Chief Cornita Riley | Orange County Corrections
  • Lindsey Snow | Jackson Hewitt
  • GOVERNMENT HONOREE  Judge Elizabeth J (Liz) Starr | Ninth Judicial Circuit Court
  • Deborah Zutter | Strayer University

On behalf of the Women's Executive Council, we would like to sincerely thank the Orlando community for supporting the 44th Annual Women's Achievement Awards.  A special note of gratitude to the WAA Steering Committee for their countless hours of work and dedication to our vision of Empowering and Embracing Women to Serve Central Florida.  

Applause to John Forsythe and Leslie Gayle, Morning Co-Hosts, Magic 107.7 keeping evening light and informative. Our sincere thanks to each of our Corporate Partners, Sponsors and guests. Without your contribution, we would not be able to change lives!

​WAA ChairPerson

Nancy Mireles


Deanna Snyder

Nominations Co-Chairs
Toni Crabtree & Rosanne Rak

Gina Talley

Scholarship Chair

Rhonda Shurtleff


Eva Shoemaker

Silent Auction Co-Chair
​Teri Benson & Kimberly Hooper


Dauri Sandison


This event is neither sponsored nor endorsed by the Orlando Museum of Art.
The Orlando Museum of Art is not participating in the fundraising at this event, does not have any sponsorship of this event and will not receive any of the funds raised at this event.

2016 Nominees

corporate partners

Central Florida WomAn of the Year

Chief Cornita Riley

  • PUBLIC SERVICE HONOREE Michelle Alley | Altamonte Acupuncture & Florida Acupuncture Trauma Relief Team
  • HOSPITALITY / TOURISM HONOREE Maribeth Bisienere | Disney Springs, ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex
  • ​HEALTH & WELLNESS HONOREE Dana Nicholson Bledsoe | Nemours Children's Hospital
  • BUSINESS HONOREE Michelle Brady Palmer | SeaWorld
  • Suzanne (Suzie) Brenneman | Jesus Film Project
  • Lena Combs | Withum
  • COMMUNITY OUTREACH HONOREE Kari Conley | Orlando Health
  • Judy Douglass | Campus Crusade for Christ
  • Debbie Farah | Bajalia International Group
  • ​Paula Fiuza | Central Florida Hotel & Lodging Association
  • Marivette Gonzalez | The Orlando Family Law Firm
  • ​Pamela Gould | Dave's House & Orange County School Board
  • Sami Hainan-Marrero | Hispanic American Professional & Business Women's Association
  • Yanet Herrero | Kings Service Solutions
  • Dana Hopper | Odyssey Middle School, OCPS
  • Paula Huband | Idea Girl Solutions, LLC
  • Rashida O. Jourdain | The Jourdain Group, LLC
  • Jeanetta Lawrence | Jewett Orthopaedic